mai 2013

Une idée de jeu dans un tas de vaisselle sale

Été 2013, en lavant la vaisselle, des colocs discutent de jeux vidéo. En parlant des éléments qu’ils apprécient chacun dans un bon jeu, ils se font une idée d’un jeu qui, pour eux, serait absolument incroyable!

Lire plus

mai 2014

L’équipe se forme et une vision d’entreprise se dessine

Les colocs parlent de leur idée à leurs amis et, tranquillement, de plus en plus de passionnés se regroupent tous les jeudis dans l’appartement pour donner un coup de main. On y retrouve des programmeurs, des artistes et des curieux, tous motivés par l’idée d’un jeu vidéo innovant et rassembleur.

Lire plus

novembre 2014

Totema Studio devient réalité

Après mûres réflexions sur les avantages de s’enregistrer comme compagnie, sur notre vision d’entreprise ainsi que sur notre logo, nous devenons officiellement une entreprise enregistrée au registre des entreprises du Québec comme Société en nom collectif (S.E.N.C.)

mars 2015

De l’aide et de la reconnaissance dans le milieu entrepreneurial

Après un travail sérieux pour définir nos objectifs d’entreprise et plusieurs heures de rédaction et d’accompagnement, nous terminons notre plan d’affaire. Ce document d’une cinquantaine de page bien rempli nous amène à entrevoir le jour où nous pourrons travailler sur nos jeux à temps plein. Nous soumettons ce document au concours “Création et démarrage d’entreprises” organisé par le CEE-UQAC et nous remportons la 2e place.

août 2015

On sort du placard… Ou dans notre cas, du sous-sol

Pour nous permettre de partager notre vision et faire connaître nos jeux en développement, nous lançons notre site web, notre page Facebook, ainsi qu’une courte vidéo promotionnelle pour Totema Studio. C’est un peu notre coming out!

septembre 2015

Dans l’oeil d’un ancien dragon

dit comme ça, on dirait le titre d’un film de kungfu

Totema Studio participe à l’Accélérateur, l’équivalent web de l’émission d’Alexandre et les conquérants diffusé à ICI Explora avec Alexandre Taillefer. Ce concours vise à faire connaître les entreprises dans le milieu des technologies au Québec.

Parmi la cinquantaine d’entreprises présentées dans l’Accélérateur, Totema Studio s’inscrit comme l’un des 5 finalistes.

mars 2016

La fois où on a eu la piqure des GameJams

Nous participons pour la première fois au WonderJam de l’AEMI-UQAC, une fin de semaine où les étudiants et les studios de jeux vidéo tentent de créer un prototype de jeu en 48 h selon différentes contraintes. En plus de la thématique “Connexion” qu’a reçu toutes les équipes participantes,  la nôtre se voit imposer les styles Exploration et Survie en plus de notre contrainte maison auto-imposée : jeu multijoueur local.

Lire plus

avril 2016

Inscription au défi OSEntreprendre

Nous nous inscrivons au Défi OSEntreprendre dans la catégorie Création d’entreprises : Innovation technologique et nous remportons le premier prix dans cette catégorie au local (dans Chicoutimi) le 8 avril 2016 puis au régional (au Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean) le 29 avril. Pas la peine de vous dire à quel point on était fier!

juin 2016

Fier représentant de notre région

Nous participons à la finale provinciale du Défi OSEntreprendre. Bien que nous n’ayons pas été décernés gagnant dans notre catégorie, nous avons eu la chance de faire plusieurs rencontres enrichissantes et nous revenons à Chicoutimi encore plus motivés (et en limousine :D)

juillet 2016

Notre première convention GEEK

Nous participons au SAGGEEK, Premier festival de la culture »Geek » au Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean organisé par Adrénaline 24. Un peu naïvement, nous apportons nos ordinateurs portables en pensant pouvoir avancer nos projets pendant les périodes plus tranquilles.

Lire plus

septembre 2016

Game of Thumbs officiellement annoncé

Nous annonçons la  sortie de Game of Thumbs pour novembre 2016. On a une idée, une boucle de jeu complète, des défis et un objectif. Une date de sortie est déterminée: novembre 2016.

décembre 2016

Sortie de Game of Thumbs

Le 10 décembre (aussi appelé le 40 novembre), nous lançons officiellement Game of Thumbs sur iOS et Android et profitons de l’engouement autour de ce jeu fait 100 % à Saguenay pour parler de nous dans les médias régionaux. Le 12 décembre, nous invitons famille, amis et curieux à notre soirée de lancement au Moulin à Cie.

février 2017

Wonderjam AEMI UQAC – Orwell avait raison

Nous participons pour une deuxième fois au WonderJam organisé par l’AEMI-UQAC! Pour ceux qui n’auraient pas lu l’historique depuis le début, il s’agit d’une compétition amicale où les étudiants en jeux vidéo et autres intéressés (ce qui est notre cas) ont 48 heures pour concevoir un prototype de jeu selon un thème donné et des contraintes imposées. Cette édition a pour thème “Orwell avait raison”. Pour ce qui est des contraintes, nous recevons Dialogue, exploration et compétition.

Lire plus

mars 2017

Présentation de Totema Studio au Forum Informatique CEE-UQAC

Totema Studio est invité par le Centre d’entrepreneuriat et d’essaimage de l’UQAC à l’édition 2017 du forum informatique, une activité visant à réunir les entreprises dans le secteur de l’informatique et les étudiants et finissants de ce domaine à la recherche d’un emploi.

Bien que nous n’ayons pas de postes présentement à combler, nous décidons d’accepter l’invitation pour partager notre expérience de studio indépendant et, qui sait, donner la piqûre à d’autres personnes. Ce fut une expérience très enrichissante pour nous-mêmes et, bien entendu, une belle occasion de faire connaître notre entreprise.

juillet 2017

On a des jeux à faire tester, on va au SAGGEEK

Nous participons à la deuxième édition du SAGGEEK qui ce déroule cette fois sur 3 jours. On présente 4 prototypes de jeux pour ensuite les publier en accès privilégié sur notre Patreon. School Escape gagne en popularité, suivi de Zombiotik, Octopuke et The Great Watcher.

mars 2018

Wonderjam AEMI UQAC – Ordre et Désordre: City Crashers

city-crashers

Un 3e WonderJam à l’UQAC pour Totema Studio! À chaque fois c’est une fin de semaine de fou! Le thème 2018 pour toutes les équipes: Ordre et Désordre et les styles qui nous ont été imposés sont exploration, course et arcade.

 

Après avoir réfléchi longuement sur un jeu de construction où on devait trier des objets dans un environnement, on s’est finalement dit que c’était pas mal plus agréable de mettre un désordre épique! On termine donc, en 48 heures, un sympathique prototype baptisé City Crashers. Des robots géants, une ville, 45 secondes pour y faire le plus de dégâts possible, bref beaucoup de plaisir.

mars 2018

Finaliste de la série Indie Ubisoft 2018

Toute l’équipe monte à Montréal pour présenter School Escape à la finale de la Série Indie d’Ubisoft! Nous ne sommes pas revenu au Saguenay avec le grand prix, mais on a l’honneur d’être le premier studio hors Québec et Montréal à s’y mériter une place dans les finalistes! En plus, on s’est fait de nouveaux potes chez Sabotage Studio et Chainsawesome Games.

avril 2018

Game Over avec les vrais gamers du Saguenay!

On participe pour la première fois au Game Over, une soirée de jeux vidéo et de société organisée par une belle gang de passionnés! On a eu beaucoup de visiteurs et on est finalement tous resté jusqu’à la clôture à 3h du matin.

mai 2018

L’espace prototype de Totema Studio au Versus

Le Versus nous approche pour avoir une borne de jeux Totema Studio dans son bar, un pub ludique avec comme vocation de réunir les gamers autour d’expérience de jeux multijoueur locaux et de jeu de société… on était fait pour s’entendre! Depuis le 31 mai, les visiteurs du Versus peuvent essayer nos jeux en développement!

May 2013

A wild game idea appears

In 2013, while washing some dishes, roommates discuss video games. While they talk about the things they like in a good game, they make their own idea of a game that would be fantastic!

Read more

May 2014

The team is created and a corporate vision is emerging

The roommates talk about their idea to their friends and slowly, more and more enthusiasts get together each Thursday in the apartment to give a hand. Programmers, artists and curious people, all motivated by the idea of an innovative and unifying video game.

Read more

November 2014

Totema Studio becomes reality

After considering the advantages of registering as a company, our corporate vision and our logo, we officially become a registered company in the The Enterprise Register of Quebec as a partnership.

March 2015

Help and recognition form the business environment

After serious work to define our business objectives and several hours of writing and coaching, we complete our business plan. This well-filled 50-page document gives us a glimpse of the day we will work full-time on our games. We submit this document to the “Création et démarrage d’entreprises” organized by the CEE-UQAC and we win the 2nd place.

August 2015

We leave the closet… Or in our case, from the basement

To let us to share our vision and promote our games under development, we launch our website, our Facebook page, as well as a short promotional video for Totema Studio. It’s kind of our coming out!

September 2015

In the eye of a dragon

 It sounds like the title of a kungfu movie

Totema Studio participates in the Accelerator, the web equivalent of “Alexandre et les Conquérents” broadcasted to ICI Explora with Alexandre Taillefer. The objective of this competition is to raise awareness among Québec’s technology community.

Among the fifty companies presented in the Accelerator, Totema Studio is one of the five finalists.

March 2016

The time when we got the sting of the Game Jams

We participate for the first time at the AEMI-UQAC WonderJam, a weekend where students and video game studios try to create a prototype game in 48 hours according to various constraints. In addition to the general theme “Connection”, every team receives specific styles. Our imposed styles are Exploration and Survival in addition to our self-imposed constraint: local multiplayer game.

Read more

April 2016

Registered at the défi OSEntreprendre

We are registering for the “Défi OSEntreprendre” in the “Creation of companies” category: “Technological Innovation”. We win the first prize in this category at the local (saguenay) on April 8, 2016 and then at the regional (Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean) April 29th. No need to tell you how proud we were!

June 2016

Proud representative of our region


We participate in the provincial final of the “Defi OSEntreprendre”. Although we were not awarded the grand prize in our category, we were fortunate enough to meet very interesting people and we returned home with even more motivation than ever (and with a limousine :D)

July 2016

Our first geek convention

We’re at SAGGEEK, the first “Geek” culture festival in Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean organized by Adrénaline 24. Naively, we bring our laptops thinking we can advance our projects during the quieter times.

Read more

September 2016

Game of Thumbs officially announced

We announce the release of Game of Thumbs for November 2016. We have an idea, a complete game loop, challenges and a goal. A release date date is set: November 2016.

December 2016

Game of Thumbs release

On December 10th (aka November 40th), we officially launch Game of Thumbs on iOS and Android and take advantage of the enthusiasm around this 100% made in Saguenay game to talk about us in the regional media. December 12th, we invite family, friends and curious to our launch party at the Moulin à Cie.

February 2017

Wonderjam AEMI UQAC – Orwell was right

We are participating for the second time at the WonderJam organized by the AEMI-UQAC! For those who have not read the history from the beginning, this is a friendly competition where video game students and other interested parties (us) have 48 heures to design a prototype game with a given theme and constraints. The theme for this edition: “Orwell was right”. As for the constraints, we get dialog, exploration and competition.

Read more

March 2017

Totema Studio presentation at the Forum informatique CEE-UQAC

Totema Studio is invited by the Centre d’entrepreneuriat et d’essaimage de l’UQAC to the 2017 edition of the IT Forum, an activity aimed at bringing together companies in the IT sector, students and graduates seeking for a job.

Although we do not currently have positions to fill, we decide to accept the invitation to share our experience in the creation of an independent studio and, who knows, give the bite to other people. It was a very enriching experience for us and, of course, a great opportunity to showcase our company.

July 2017

We have games to be tested, let’s go to the SAGGEEK

We are participating to the second edition of the SAGGEEK which is now a 3 days long convention. We present 4 prototypes of games and then publish them in privileged access on our patreon. School Escape is gaining popularity, followed by Zombiotik, Octopuke and The Great Watcher.

March 2018

Wonderjam AEMI UQAC – Order and Disorder: City Crashers

city-crashers

A 3rd WonderJam at UQAC for Totema Studio! It’s always a crazy weekend! The 2018 theme for all teams: Order and Disorder and the styles that have been imposed to our team were exploration, race and arcade.


After a long brainstorm on a game you had to sort objects in an environment, we finally figured out it could be a lot more fun to just put an epic mess! So we made a nice prototype called City Crashers. Giant robots, a city to destroy, 45 seconds to do as much damage as possible. tldr; a lot of fun.

March 2018

Finalist at the Ubisoft Série Indie 2018

The whole team goes to Montreal to present School Escape at the Ubisoft Indie Series finale! We did not return to Saguenay with the prize, but we have the honor of being the first studio outside Quebec and Montreal cities to be in the finalists! In addition, we made new friends at Sabotage Studio and Chainsawesome Games.

April 2018

Game Over with real games at Saguenay!

For the first time, we participate to the Game Over event, an evening of video and board games! We had a lot of visitors and we even stayed until the end at 3am.

May 2018

Prototype space Totema Studio arcade at the Versus bar

The Versus approaches Totema Studio for a custom gaming arcade in its bar, a playful pub with the purpose of bringing together gamers with local multiplayer games and board games experiences … we were made to get along! Since May 31th, Versus visitors can try our games in development!

September 2018

September 2018

It’s time to go outside our region the reach more people. The gang participates to Dreamhack Montreal with La Zone Indie Loto-Quebec to present Zombiotik. The atmosphere was awesome!

October 2018

It’s time for VR!

For our 4th Gamejam with the UQAC, part of the team wants to try something new. We gather in Sam’s basement and decide to create a VR multiplayer game. The theme for this edition is “Change” and we get exploration, arcade and adventure as imposed styles. We create the “Katahdin” in 48h, an asymetrical game from 2 to 5 players where the VR user controls a giant nature spirit named Pamola. A bit of a crazy plan for such a short time but a great learning experience!

November 2018

MEGA November 9-10-11

The lil’ guys are once more in the big city! We attend MEGA (Montreal Expo Gaming Arcade) which lasts 3 days and welcomes lots of visitors. This time, we get a wonderful recognition from the public as we end up finalist for the Public Choice Award. Thanks for everyone who voted for us. A big motivation for boost for the upcoming weeks!

March 2019

Another Game Jam, Another experience

5th Game Jam with UQAC. YAY! The place is crowded with a whole bunch of creative, passionate and energy drink-thirsty developpers and students.

The theme for this edition is Pressure and our imposed styles are adventure, dialogues and puzzle. Since we always try something new, we try to make a….Solo game this time! With our team of 6 and 48 whole hours, we create Beer, Please!, a game where you play as the bartender in a train. You must serve beers the correct way to a bunch of passengers who ask for advice as their story unfold and distracts you. DISCLAIMER: Not a single alcoholic beverage was consumed during the duration of the jam due to lack of time, sleep and Gab’s flu.